Cat Sparks

The debut collection from award-winning writer, editor and artist Cat Sparks.

"fans of beautifully staged scenes of despair will find a wealth of them here." - Publishers Weekly

Winner of the Ditmar Award for Best Collection. Includes "Scarp", winner of the Ditmar Award for Best Short Story.


User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Publishers Weekly have reviewed Cat Sparks debut collection The Bride Price very favourably. We're exceptionally happy to read

Sparks’s prose is clean and clear, her visions of futures consistent and grim; although there are moments of hope, these too often prove phantasms. Readers looking for random acts of kindness would do well to look elsewhere; fans of beautifully staged scenes of despair will find a wealth of them here.

You can read the full review at

You can order The Bride Price at indiebooksonline.

Limited edition hardcover (signed by Cat Sparks and Sean Williams) $75

Hardcover $45

Trade paperback $25

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

And while we're in the mood for revealing things, we're extremely pleased to be able to unveil the cover for Cat Spark's collection The Bride Price.

The artwork for this collection, to be published in April 2013, is also a Cat Sparks masterpiece.

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Ticonderoga Publications is delighted to announce the forthcoming publication of a short story collection by the multi award-winning writer Cat Sparks.

The collection, tentatively titled The Bride Price, is scheduled for publication and launch at Conflux - the Australian National Science Fiction Convention in April 2013.

“Cat Sparks has produced a large number of critically acclaimed stories in the last ten years. This collection will focus on bringing together the best of her short science fiction.” Ticonderoga Editor Russell B Farr said.

“As of one of the major Australian SF voices of the past decade, a collection is long overdue,” Russell B Farr added.

Cat Sparks first rose to prominence as the founder of the acclaimed Agog! Press, publishing ten titles from 2002 to 2008. As a writer, Sparks is a graduate of the inaugural Clarion South workshop, a Writers of the Future winner, a multiple Ditmar and Aurealis Award winner, and the author of close to 60 published stories.

The contents will include the award-winning titles “All the Love in the World”, “Seventeen”, “Hollywood Roadkill”, “Last Dance at the Sargeant Major’s Ball” and the acclaimed “Arctica”, and “Home by the Sea”.

The Bride Price is scheduled for publication in April 2013. The collection will be available in limited edition hardcover, trade hardcover and paperback, and ebook editions.

Go to top