Terry Dowling

Brings together twelve essential stories by Terry Dowling, acknowledged master of fantasy: from his renowned Tom Rynosseros saga, his equally celebrated Wormwood story cycle, and other award-winning tales.

Introduction by Simon Brown.


User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Terry Dowling


Make Believe brings together twelve essential stories by this acknowledged master of fantasy: seven from his renowned Tom Rynosseros saga, three from his equally celebrated Wormwood story cycle, and two other award-winning tales, "The Man Who Lost Red" and "The Last Elephant," to show the range, versatility and sheer exuberance of the Dowling enterprise. This is science fiction and fantasy as it should be: beguiling, beautifully crafted and quite unforgettable.


Introduction by Simon Brown.




Nobody's Fool
Shatterwrack at Breaklight
The Man Who Walks Away Behind the Eyes
The Robot is Running Away fron the Trees
The Man Who Lost Red
The Only Bird in Her Name
The Last Elephant
A Deadly Edge Their Red Beaks Pass Along
Privateer's Moon
Time of the Star
Coyote Struck by Lightning


Terry Dowling has been called "Australia's finest writer of horror" by Locus magazine, and "Australia's premier writer of dark fantasy" by All Hallows. In a similar vein, The Year's Best Fantasy 4 recently said that Dowling is a "master craftsman" and "one of the best prose stylists in science fiction and fantasy". Locus regards his first book, Rynosseros, as placing him among "the masters of the field".




Limited Hardcover Edition, 100 copies signed by all contributors. RRP $75 AUD. ISBN 978-0-9806288-0-7. Available from indiebooksonline.com

Regular Trade Edition. RRP $35 AUD. ISBN 978-0-9806288-3-8.

Go to top